Maroon & Gold Awards

2019 Submissions

2019 Maroon & Gold Awards submission forms are now open. Please submit your entries by April 5 at 5:00 p.m. Awards will be presented at the UMCF Annual Conference on Thursday, June 6, 2019.

Enter your submissions at

2018 Awards

For the 17th year the University of Minnesota Communicators Forum recognized members whose work exemplifies the University’s core values: excellence, innovation, effectiveness, integrity, diversity, collaboration, sharing of knowledge, accountability, stewardship, and service.

Complete listing of the 2018 Award Winners

MIKE Award

The MIKE or “people’s choice” award is chosen by votes from UMCF members.

CLA Corporate & Community Partnership Folder – Design, Innovator category
Submitted by College of Liberal Arts Office of Institutional Advancement: Kaylee Highstrom, Tessa Eagan, Erica Giorgi, Amelious Whyte, Judith Anderson, Beth Lory, and Joslyn Biever


The MARGO award, short for maroon and gold, is presented to the entry that presents the single most elegant solution within the means available (the most bang for your buck).

UMD Homecoming Video – Interactive, Video (short) category
Submitted by UMD University Marketing and Public Relations: David Cowardin and Lynne Williams


Driven: The University of Minnesota Campaign – Campaign/Series, Promotional category
Submitted by University of Minnesota Foundation Creative Resources: Steve Anderson, Pamela Belding, Amy Sitze, Mary Winstead, Shawn Sullivan, Chris Mahan, Alan Wojciechowski, and Robyn White

2017 Awards

Complete listing of the 2017 Award Winners

2017 MIKE Award
Zuzia’s New Skin Short Video, University of Minnesota Foundation Marketing and Communications

Latest Updates